Foreign Trade Zones (FTZ) – Greater Cincinnati & Northern Kentucky

Greater Cincinnati and Northern Kentucky region has the benefit of two Foreign Trade Zones (FTZ) – FTZ No. 46 (Ohio) & FTZ No. 47 (Kentucky) – that present significant benefits to businesses. FTZ No. 46 and No. 47 encompasses eight counties in Southwestern Ohio (Hamilton, Brown, Clermont and Butler); and three counties in Northern Kentucky (Boone, Kenton and Campbell). FTZ is a business operations focused federal program designed to help regional businesses compete in the global marketplace through the elimination, deferral or reduction of customs duties on imported and exported/re-exported merchandise.

The Port of Greater Cincinnati Development Authority manages the regional Foreign Trade Zone program, for federal zone grantee Greater Cincinnati Foreign Trade Zone, Inc.

Melissa Johnson, Port Authority Director of Real Estate Development & Logistics, is the regional FTZ point person for companies that use the foreign trade zone program, for prospective zone users and for the regional economic development community.

A Foreign Trade Zone (FTZ) is a site within the United States that is legally considered outside of Customs territory for the purpose of duties, so merchandise may enter the FTZ without formal customs entry, the payment of customs duties, or the payment of federal excise taxes.

Want more information about Greater Cincinnati’s Foreign Trade Zones? Contact Melissa at Please visit FTZ No. 46 and No. 47 website for more program details and a cost savings estimator.